Poetry School Pighog Press Pamphlet Competition Shortlist

05 / 03 / 2013


 Click here to download the press release as a PDF.

Poetry School and Pighog Press are pleased to announce the shortlist for their inaugural pamphlet competition. After receiving over 450 entries, judges Julia Bird and Ciaran O’Driscoll can reveal the twelve poets on the shortlist. 

Through reading, re-reading and reading again the submitted selections, we arrived at a list of twelve writers whose poems embodied a combination of ideas, experiences and musicality to provoke and delight any poetry reader. We're looking forward to seeing how all these pamphlet collections develop through the next part of the judging process, when we apply ourselves to the hard task of picking a single winner that meets Pighog's challenging standards.'

     -Julia Bird

Those poets will now be invited to submit the remainder of their pamphlet manuscripts for the final judging. The overall winner and runners-up will be announced in May.


The Magpie in Your Ribcage by Janet Lees 

Laundry by Jocelyn Page

Cur by Martin Malone

The Emperor's Egg by Sue Wood

The Man on the Corner of Sproul Plaza Sold Black Holes by Vicki Husband

The Night Café by Rodney Wood

Breathing Underwater by Katherine Crocker

Ex by Matthew Paul

9 Blows to the Head by Neil Alexander

Everything is Fine, Nothing is Ruined by Alex Macdonald

In Spite of Asteroids by Philip Cowell

The Old Madness by Kate White


And because of the high standard of entries the judges felt it was important to publicly commend the poets who made the longlist. 


A Sneak Preview into the Afterlife by Marie Knight

Clear Air Turbulence by Jane Mclaughlin

Love N. &V. A Strong Affection by Charles Evans

The Curiosity Cricket Bat by David Coldwell

Flight Lines by Catherine Whittaker

A Woman Without a Shadow by Barbara Cumbers

Death and Daughters by A C Bevan

Wild Boars at Periyar by Mara Bergman

Allegretto by Alex Josephy

De Clerambault’s Syndrome by Vishvantara

Glamorous by Rosie Reynolds

Glint by Claudia Daventry

Horse as Accordion by Nicky Arscott

Roads that Shine like PVC Lydia Harris

The Second Republic by Nick Makoha

Tissue/Bone by Anja Konig

Ways to Build a Roadblock by Josh Ekroy

The Organisers and Judges

The Poetry School is a national arts education charity based in London. It exists to nurture poetic talent and support the development of poets in aid of a dynamic, diverse and popular contemporary poetry for readers and audiences everywhere.

Pighog Press is an award-winning publisher based in Brighton, England. It publishes high quality original work from a diverse range of regional and international voices.

For more information, please get in touch with Meredith Collins, Pighog's Press Contact:

Julia Bird grew up in Tetbury, Gloucestershire and now lives in London. She studied English Language and Literature at Reading University and has an M.A. in Creative Writing and Education from the University of Sussex. She moved to London in 1997 to work for the Poetry Book Society before moving to the Poetry School and setting up a small independent literature promotion company, Jaybird Live Literature, which produces and manages touring poetry shows. Her first collection Hannah and the Monk (Salt Publishing) was published in 2008, and a second Twenty-Four Seven Blossom will be out later in 2013. She is an editor for Magma poetry magazine.

Ciaran O'Driscoll was born in Callan, Co. Kilkenny in 1943 and lives in Limerick. He a committee member of Cuisle Limerick City International Poetry Festival and a member of Aosdána, an institution established by the Irish Arts Council to honour artists and writers who have made an outstanding contribution to art and literature. He has published six collections of poetry, including Gog and Magog (Salmon, 1987) and his New and Selected Poems, Moving On, Still There (Dedalus, 2001). He has won a number of awards for his work, including the Patrick and Katherine Kavanagh Fellowship in Poetry. Liverpool University Press published his childhood memoir, A Runner Among Falling Leaves, in 2001. His novel A Year’s Midnight was published by Pighog in 2012.

No comments

Leave a comment

Boxes with an asterisk * next to them are required items

Name *
Email * (Your email will not be published)
Comment *
Bold Italic Underline spacer Hyperlink Quote spacer Smile Wink Embarrassed Grin Disappointed
Enter the security code into the box below *
Captcha code Listen to the captcha Click the speaker to listen to the code (Quicktime required). Click the image to change the code
Enter Code: